With the release of Google Drive came a lot of excitement. Users of the company giant’s other utilities jumped at the chance to try out their new online backup system without giving it a second thought. Because of its integration with Google Docs and Gmail, it sounded like the perfect way to implement a lot of online tools into one system.

But as time went on, thin cracks which hadn’t been spotted previously started to appear. They lay not in the software or website itself, but within one sentence of Google Drive’s small print; a sentence that seems to suggest that users upon upload subsequently grant the company a ‘worldwide license to use, host, store, reproduce, modify, create’ and ‘communicate, publish, publicly perform, publicly display and distribute’ content.

Though these words have unsettled older members of the public, it is mainly the younger generation who have felt the brunt of the sting. This is because younger people are more prone to make quick decisions without looking into what they are getting themselves into.

This can sometimes be a problem—but this kind of thing shouldn’t be when it comes to signing up with a worldwide giant like Google. And now that many have backed up their files with them, it has left them wondering what on earth is going to happen with their personal data. This isn’t right—online backup is supposed to be about creating added safety and, most importantly, trust between consumer and vendor.

This is surely an issue that needs to get sorted by Google if they wish to remain in the online backup show in the near future.

Posted in: Online Backup